jump to navigation

starPlayer September 15, 2013

Posted by robert jarvis in ..
trackback

RA spiral

When aroundNorth is finally complete it will have to be played on a specially designed audioPlayer.  This is for a number of reasons.  First, the installation will be multi-channel (I am not sure how many channels at the moment – just that I want the experience to be immersive).  The second challenge is the length of the composition: I need a player that can cope with a multichannel audio loop of 23 hours 56 minutes and 4.01 seconds!  Finally, to make life easy for touring the work, I would like my player to know where it is on Earth and also what time it is, so that it is able to deduce the local sidereal time, and therefore know from which point in the composition to begin playing.  To this end, I have commissioned David Moss to build such a player for me – he is flying over from Prague next week to learn a bit more about the project and see what exactly is required.

